top of page
Björk ‎– Post

Post is the second studio album by Icelandic recording artist Björk, released on 13 June 1995 in the United Kingdom by One Little Indian and in the United States by Elektra Entertainment. Whereas Björk's previous album Debut (1993) was produced almost entirely by Nellee Hooper, Björk produced Post with collaborators including Hooper, 808 State's Graham Massey, and former Massive Attack member Tricky.

Continuing the style developed on Debut, Post is considered an important exponent of art pop. It features an eclectic mixture of electronic and dance styles such as techno, trip hop, IDM, and house, but also ambient, jazz, industrial, and experimental music. Björk wrote most of the songs after moving to London, and intended Post to convey the city's pace, urban culture, and underground club culture.

Post was named one of the greatest albums of 1995 by numerous publications, and has since been named one of the greatest albums of all time by publications including Entertainment Weekly and Rolling Stone. It reached number one in Iceland, number two in the United Kingdom and number 32 in the US. It was certified gold in New Zealand and Sweden, and platinum in Australia, Canada, the US, and the UK. Six singles were released: "Army of Me", "Isobel", "It's Oh So Quiet", "Hyperballad", "Possibly Maybe", and "I Miss You", with three reaching the UK top 10. They were accompanied by acclaimed music videos noted for their surrealism, themes of nature and technology, and artistic development of the medium. Telegram, a remix album, was released in 1996.

Media attention and the extensive Post Tour were detrimental to Björk's wellbeing. She survived a murder attempt, and caused controversy by assaulting a reporter. Björk would relocate away from the press in Spain to produce her next album, Homogenic.

Björk ‎– Post

SKU: 5016958025410
Excluding Sales Tax
bottom of page