top of page
Charles Mingus - The Black Saint And The Sinner Lady

The Black Saint And The Sinner Lady (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series) [LP]

Described by Mingus himself as “ethnic folk-dance music,” The Black Saint & The Sinner Lady is a single song cycle rather than a traditional jazz album of separate tracks. The intricate arrangements and raw emotional swings of the piece make it a highlight of Mingus’ career, and one of the most compelling listens in jazz.




- Disc 1 -

1 Solo Dancer (Stop! and Listen, Sinner Jim Whitney!)

2 Duet Solo Dancers (Heart's Beat and Shades in Physical Embraces)

3 Group Dancers ([Soul Fusion] Freewoman and Oh This Freedom's Slave Cries)


- Disc 2 -

1 Trio and Group Dancers (Stop! Look! and Sing Songs of Revolutions!)

2 Single Solos and Group Dance (Saint and Sinner Join in Merriment on Battle Front)

3 Group and Solo Dance (Of Love, Pain, and Passioned Revolt, Then Farewell, My Beloved, 'Til It's Freedom Day)

Charles Mingus - The Black Saint And The Sinner Lady

SKU: 602435862156
Excluding Sales Tax
  • LABEL: Verve

    UPC: 602435862156

    GENRE: Jazz

    RELEASE DATE: 11/19/2021

    PRODUCT ID: VRVB003360201.1

    WEIGHT: 1.07 lbs

bottom of page