Nas - It Was Written

Double vinyl LP pressing. It Was Written is the second studio album by American rapper Nas, released July 2, 1996 on Columbia Records in the United States. Following the moderate sales success of his acclaimed debut album, Illmatic (1994), Nas chose to focus his efforts in a more mainstream direction. Primarily produced by Trackmasters, it is a departure for him from the raw, underground tone of his debut album towards a more polished, mainstream sound. The album features mafioso and gangsta themes, and marks the first appearance of Nas's short-lived supergroup The Firm, which included rappers Foxy Brown, AZ, and Cormega.


The album proved to be Nas’ most commercially successful release, debuting at number one on the US Billboard 200 chart. It also heralded Nas’s mainstream popularity and followed the success of other mafioso rap albums such as Only Built 4 Cuban Linx… (1995) and Reasonable Doubt (1996). However, his stylistic changes and increased mainstream success fostered accusations of selling out within the hip hop community. It remains Nas' best-selling release, with over two million copies in the United States alone.



1 Album Intro [Explicit]

2 The Message [Explicit]

3 Street Dreams [Explicit]

4 I Gave You Power

5 Watch Dem Niggas

6 Take It in Blood [Explicit]

7 Nas Is Coming

8 Affirmative Action [Explicit]

9 The Set Up

10 Black Girl Lost

11 Suspect

12 Shootout

13 Live Nword Rap

14 If I Ruled the World (Imagine That) (FT. Lauryn Hill)

Nas - It Was Written

SKU: 664425131017
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter

Vinyl Oasis, Unit A Ocala FL. 34480

Phone: 352-216-3477


Copyright Vinyl Oasis All Rights Reserved