top of page
Tom Waits -  Brawlers

Brawlers presents probably the best-known of Tom Waits' personalities, filled as it is with vocal cord damage, found percussion, old-timey arrangements, and cartoon-buzz lead guitar. It's also the disc that flirts most dangerously with cliché, filled as it is with his well-trod inventory of Americana underbelly images: trains, jailhouses, barrooms, etc. However, the secret of Waits' act is how well he deploys these should-be-tired cultural touchstones; at the very least, he sounds more comfortable in the role of a boxcar-hopper than he does reciting the ripped-from-the-headlines Middle East folk song "Road to Peace". Certainly it helps that he continues to buck the aging rocker career trend of increasing cleanliness, wrapping these songs in dirt-grit production that keeps the Big Bopper warble of "Lie to Me" or the garage 12-bar Ramones cover "The Return of Jackie and Judy" from sounding like a House of Blues exhibit.





- Disc 1 -

1 Lie to Me (Remastered)

2 Lowdown (Remastered)

3 2:19 (Remastered)

4 Fish in the Jailhouse (Remastered)


- Disc 2 -

1 Bottom of the World (Remastered)

2 Lucinda (Remastered)

3 Ain't Goin' Down to the Well (Remastered)

4 Lord I've Been Changed (Remastered)


- Disc 3 -

1 Puttin' on the Dog (Remastered)

2 Road to Peace (Remastered)

3 All the Time (Remastered)


- Disc 4 -

1 The Return of Jackie and Judy (Remastered)

2 Walk Away (Remastered)

3 Sea of Love (Remastered)

4 Buzz Fledderjohn (Remastered)

5 Rains on Me (Remastered)

Tom Waits - Brawlers

SKU: 045778755011
Excluding Sales Tax
Out of Stock
  • LABEL: Epitaph

    VENDOR: Epitaph, a California Corp.



    UPC: 045778755011

    GENRE: Rock

    RELEASE DATE: 6/15/2018

    PRODUCT ID: EPT87550.1

    WEIGHT: 1.37 lbs

bottom of page